Skip to content ↓
ACES Academics Trust logo

Part of
ACES Academies Trust

Foundation Stage - Ladybirds

Welcome to Reception, we are the Ladybird class. Reception are lucky enough to have two teachers. On Monday and Tuesday Mrs Gardiner is the class teacher. Mrs Gardiner like enjoys doing arts, crafts and teaching phonics. On Wednesday, Thursday and Friday the class teacher is Mrs Ripley. Mrs Ripley loves dinosaurs and teaching maths. We also have 3 teaching assistants; Mrs Page, Mrs Craig and Mrs Lowden. 


In Reception, you will find us busy learning indoors and outdoors. We learn and explore through play, as well as group tasks and whole class sessions. Sometimes we get a little bit messy, but this is because we are learning and having so much fun! 


You can follow our learning journey on SeeSaw and communicate with us via Class Dojo. 

Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

The Foundation Curriculum is organised under seven headings. There are three prime areas and four specific areas.

The prime areas are fundamental, work together and support the development in all other areas.

The three prime areas are:

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

This includes; Making relationships, Self- confidence and self awareness,

Managing feelings and behaviour

Physical Development

This includes; Moving and handling, Health and self-care

Communication and Language

This includes; Listening and attention, Understanding, Speaking

The specific areas include essential skills and knowledge for children to participate successfully in society.

The four specific areas are:


This covers both reading and writing.


This covers both number and shape, space and measures.

Understanding of the world

This covers people and their communities, the world and technology.

Expressive Arts and Design

This covers exploring and using media and materials - Being imaginative

There is also an overall heading known as "Characteristics of Effective Learning" which has three sub-headings. These explain the way in which a child engages with other people and their environment and how they will learn and develop across the seven areas of learning-

Playing and exploring - engagement

Active learning - motivation

. Creating and thinking critically - thinking

The planning and teaching within Foundation Stage is organised in order to cover all of the seven areas of learning, to allow the children to work towards achieving the 17 stated learning goals at the end of the year.

Our aim within Foundation is to provide a unique and enjoyable learning experience where the children are offered varied and stimulating activities and resources to develop their learning and promote consistent progress. We hope to offer variety and motivation for learning through our topics.

The current Foundation Stage topics are:

Autumn 1 - All About Me 

Autumn 2 - People Who Help Us, Christmas

Spring 1 - Dinosaurs

Spring 2 -Once Upon A Time

Summer 1 - Animals

Summer 2 - Space


Children are assessed throughout the year against the age related statements specific to each area. We use 'Tapestry, which parents and guardians have access to see their learning and progress on a daily basis. After the summer term assessment your child's teacher will complete a "Learning and Development report" which will evaluate the effort and progress you child has made and the interest he/she has shown throughout the year.